Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 8th, 2011

I feel like maybe my medicine didn’t really work today, and that re-raises all of my previous concerns. Was it doing anything on previous days? Was I just over thinking things? Was it all placebo?

Writing even this much has been hard. I don’t like that.

Read Full Post »

I can’t say I noticed any big changes today.  It’s been busy non-stop, and on days like this when I am constantly with people, and participating it can be hard to tell that I have a problem.

  • I am concerned that I might not have gotten the best effect from my medicine because I ate a couple of Tums about half an hour before taking my pill. I know most medications warn that they are less effective when you use antacids. This will fall into the wait and see category I guess.
  • The 20ish minutes of lightheadedness hit again today shortly after I took the pill, but I didn’t notice the drowzyness this evening.
  • This pill is a one a day, and I am already wondering if I can up the dose or switch to a three a day. I know it’s cliché and melodramatic, but I really had a Flowers for Algernon moment today. I felt like I had things really well under control, and I was on top of things, and 10 minutes later I had misplaced my car keys (by which I mean set them on the kitchen counter by the door while I got the trash ready to go out, then went all over the house looking for where I had left them.).
  • Felt really chatty again today, this time at the party. Maybe the way I’m perceiving things is different, or maybe I am just paying attention more because I want the medicine to be working? I like the idea of deeper engagement with people, and of being a more active friend.
  • It’s almost 2:30am and I am super tired. Oh! I didn’t sleep well last night. Side effect? Bedroom too hot? Too much water before bed? I guess I’ll find out once I go to bed.

Read Full Post »

^^Terrible Title I Know^^

or Being on Adversity in the Face of Entertainment

My college roommate Sam and I went to see a matinée of Thor this afternoon.  Sam almost didn’t get in because the 2D screening sold out (I think it was a combination of putting the 2D showing in a smaller auditorium, and people turning against 3D (Wishful thinking?).) Luckily the theater close to my house actively avoids overselling, and they were able to fit him into one of the four extra seats they set aside (which is good because I wasn’t letting anyone sit in it anyway).  Tragically our outing was cut short. A problem with what I would analogize to the center channel of a home theater caused the film’s dialog to be almost impossible to hear while the soundtrack and foley were perhaps a little too loud. After working on the problem for 30 odd minutes (all through the trailers, and the first 10 – 15 minutes of the film) the theater gave up and gave us all refunds. Still, while at the theater I had some thoughts I figured might be good to get down.

  • The romantic comedy Something Borrowed has wasted a good title. Something Borrowed should be a DelToro-esque supernatural horror movie where [insert actress] is kidnapped and dragged to a nightmare realm on her wedding day, and she has to discover why she has been taken while searching for an escape. (I see Mandy Moore in the lead (bit of a departure for her I know) and Karl Urban as both the distraught finance and the demon king (in full foam latex  makeup).)
  • Also, John Krasinski is in (the real) Something Borrowed, and his IMDB bio calls him “Handsome”; is that right? I’m not a good judge, and I certainly don’t think he’s an ugly man, but if you were to ask me to compare him to an actor from early Hollywood I’d probably pick James Stewart: an earnest everyman, but maybe people thought James Stewart was handsome?
  • Trailers for Captain America and X-Men: First Class both look really solid. Could we see a Summer with three good Marvel movies? Will people actually see all three, or will Thor steal the momentum from the period heroes ?
  • We also saw the trailer for Super 8, and it looks great on the big screen. I do worry that maybe I am over hyping myself on it. I’m feeling a lot of nostalgia, and I worry about setting my expectations too high, but beyond that there’s tons of talent on the project so I am hopeful.

Read Full Post »